Potomac Curling Club banner

Potomac Curling Club

Member Awards

From time to time as an organization, we stop to reflect on our accomplishments, and to recognize our members that have made significant contributions to the Potomac Curling Club.

Let the record show that the following curlers, among many others, have made significant contributions to our club:

Mathews C. Waddell Distinguished Curler Award

Presented to a member in recognition of his or her ongoing dedicated service to the Potomac Curling Club.

2018 Eric Clawson
2017 Joe Rockenbach
2016 Dawn Findlay
2015 Ann Drummie
2014 Lisa Andrew
2013 Susan Armiger and Bill MacDonald
2012 Howard Griffin
2011 George Shirk
2010 Virginia Chalmers and Dominique Banville
2009 Ken Wray
2008 Michael Fry
2007 Charlie Jennings
2006 Neil Christenson
2005 Barry Nichols
2004 Tim Harwood
2003 Harvey Chalmers
2002 Wayne Caskey and Deb Farace
2001 Jay Davies
2000 John Bittner and Bob Pelletier
1999 Doug and Anne Paula Thompson
1998 Roman Novak
1997 Ordell Olson and Edmund White
1996 Sarah Jo Pelletier
1995 Duane Rutan
1994 Dave Thompson and Carol White
1993 Heather Schreiber
1992 Mathews Waddell

Spirit of Curling Award

Presented to a member in recognition of the Spirit of Curling in that individual who, in his or her first year of curling has exhibited outstanding qualities of enthusiasm, sportsmanship and dedication to the club. Endowed with the spirit of the true curler, he or she exemplifies the finest tradition of the roaring game.

2018 Jeri Smith-Ready
2017 Rebecca Knowles
2016 Kate Sun
2015 Rainy Delaney and Ben Kean
2014 Craig Markwardt
2013 Jim Donofrio
2012 Paige Roberts
2011 Team Spartacus (Kyle Buckles, Mark Lawrence, Jeff Lee, Stephen Enochson, Greg Traub, and Kim Belf)
2010 Irwin Freed
2009 Pete Morelewicz
2008 Van Anderson
2007 Scott Correia and Sherri Fillingham
2006 Pam Martin
2005 Heather Cook and John Warshawsky
2004 Caitlin Shaw and Paul Trimbur
2003 Doug, Lisa, Lizzie and Becky Andrew
2002 Ron Aubin and FL Ettlin
2001 Stephen Burrows and Jeremy Singer
2000 Dominique Banville
1999 Peter Isaacs and Kate Kruckemeyer
1998 Ed Meade and Clements Onukwubiri
1997 Michael Fry
1996 Neil Christenson and Linda Murphy
1995 Cindy Eurich and David Sliom

Bob & Sarah Jo Pelletier Potomac Ambassador Award

Presented to a member in recognition of the Spirit of Curling in that individual who has exhibited outstanding qualities of enthusiasm, sportsmanship, and good citizenship, thereby being a positive representative and ambassador of the club.

2018 Stacy Bishop
2017 Kevin White & Linda Kirkman
2016 Eric Clawson
2015 Pete Morelewicz
2014 Joe Rockenbach
2013 Joe Rockenbach
2012 Kim Belf
2011 FL Ettlin
2010 Howard Griffin

Ken Wray Volunteer of the Year Award

Presented to a member who has demonstrated, through the significant contributions of time, talent and effort, a powerful commitment to the continuing improvement of the Potomac Curling Club and by his or her efforts has helped deliver a high quality experience to its members and guests.

2018 Giann Gorospe
2017 J.r Grohs, Hillary Sparks, & Kyle Murphy
2016 Courtney and Melvin Shaw
2015 Craig Markwardt
2014 Linda Kirkman & Laura Barrantes
2013 Michael Dobbs & Curtis Brooks
2012 Ken Wray
2011 Susan Armiger
2010 Rachel Vanarsdall & Lee Vanarsdall
2009 Bob Leonard
2008 George Shirk and Lisa Andrew
2007 Virginia Chalmers
2006 Howard Griffin and Ken Wray
2005 Doug Andrew and Scott Edie

Curler of the Year Award

Presented to a member (or members or team) who is a role model to other members by displaying a dedication to the sport of curling as evidenced by outstanding on-ice achievement and/or exceptional improvement in on-ice curling skills, as well as consistent on and off-ice good sportsmanship.

2018 Hunter Clawson
2017 Hunter and Caleb Clawson
2016 Hunter and Caleb Clawson
2015 Gabriel and Gilad Kempenich
2014 Hunter Clawson
2013 Bill MacDonald, George Shirk
2012 Becca Erickson
2011 Scott Edie
2010 Sean Murray
2009 Faircloth Rink (Chris Faircloth, Michael Fry, Ron Aubin, Michael Campbell)
2008 Rachel Sethi
2007 Charrissa Lin
2006 Tanya Jacobsen
2005 Derek Surka

Junior Curler of the Year Award

Presented to the junior curler(s) that demonstrated outstanding curling skills, exceptional improvement, or superior training ability. Sportsmanship and volunteerism will also be considerations.

2018 Hudson Kennedy
2017 Diana Black
2016 Katherine Gourianova
2015 Eli Clawson
2014 Lara Shonkwiler
2013 Arlo Miles
2012 Hunter and Caleb Clawson
2011 Jeff Vanarsdall
2010 Ryan McMakin
2009 Becky Vanarsdall
2008 Alexx Macedo
2007 Becky Andrew

Copyright © , Potomac Curling Club , All rights reserved.
Website powered by Curling Manager